Midweek Wire-Carthel’s Contract Extended, Lion Post Season Football Accolades, Former QB Davis AFL Rookie Of Year.

Carthel and friends

Per Lionathletics.com, Colby Carthel’s contract has been extended through the year 2021.  Great news and needed to be done. Dr. Ray Keck’s thoughts on signing Carthel to another year:

“Colby Carthel’s leadership of our football program has transformed our institution in ways we have never experienced,” Keck noted.  “To celebrate a national championship has our proud institution in a state of euphoria.  This extension is a reflection of not just Colby as a football coach, but as a transformational leader of men.”

AD Tim McMurray: “Watching Colby embrace that national championship trophy last month was emotional, He and his coaching staff exemplify our “Best in Class” mission throughout every phase of our program.   It is a privilege to steward their success.   Through the generous support of Lion Champions Fund donors and our Best in Class administration, we continue to identify and generate resources that provide continuity and opportunities for these stellar student-athletes and coaches.”

Finally, Coach Carthel himself:

“What an honor it is to continue to serve this prestigious program, Our administration continues to make the commitment of building A&M-Commerce into the premier football program in Division II, and I’m excited to help lead in that endeavor. While we have accomplished so much in the past five years, it’s exciting to know our best days are still ahead of us.”



A few weeks late on this, but time to provide All Postseason Accolades for Lion Football.

Luis Perez-Harlon Hill Award Winner (Third Nominee in School History, First Winner in School History)

Luis Perez-Ron Lenz Offensive Player Of The Year.

Garrett Blubaugh-NCAA Elite 90 Winner (Division II Academic Heisman)

Brucks Saathoff & Yusef Sterling-Lowe-Cliff Harris Award Finalists (Best Small College Defensive Player)

Matt Storm-Division II Offensive Coordinator Of Year (Footballscoop.com)


First Team-Luis Perez, Jared Macharro (Consensus)

Second Team-Luis Perez, Yusef Sterling Lowe (D2Football.com)

All-Super Region 4-

Luis Perez-First Team & Region 4 offensive player of the year. 

Jared Macharro-First Team

Kristov Martinez-Second Team 

All-Lone Star Conference-

Superlatives & First Team Members-

Offensive Player of the Year (J.W. Rollins award): Luis Perez, Texas A&M-Commerce
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Jared Machorro, Texas A&M-Commerce

Jared Machorro Texas A&M-Commerce OT Sr. Coldspring, Texas
Vincent Hobbs Texas A&M-Commerce TE Jr. Mesquite, Texas
Luis Perez Texas A&M-Commerce QB Sr. Chula Vista, Calif.
Kristov Martinez Texas A&M-Commerce PK Jr. Edinburg, Texas
Buck Wilson Texas A&M-Commerce RS Sr. Commerce, Texas
Michael Onuoha Texas A&M-Commerce DE Jr. Edmond, Okla.
Brucks Saathoff Texas A&M-Commerce ILB Jr. San Antonio, Texas
Yusef Sterling-Lowe Texas A&M-Commerce CB Sr. Oakland, Calif

Second Team All LSC-

Poet Thomas Texas A&M-Commerce OG Sr. Beverly Hills, Mich
Jon Aguilar Texas A&M-Commerce C Sr. Lubbock, Texas
Darrion Landry Texas A&M-Commerce WR Jr. Baytown, Texas
Buck Wilson Texas A&M-Commerce WR Sr. Commerce, Texas
DD Fletcher Texas A&M-Commerce DT So. Arlington, Texas
Kieston Carter Texas A&M-Commerce OLB Sr. Mexia, Texas
Chris Smith Texas A&M-Commerce S Jr. Mansfield, Texas
Alex Shillow Texas A&M-Commerce S R-Fr. Pflugerville, Texas
Austin Jordan Texas A&M-Commerce DS Sr. Rowlett, Texas

Honorable Mention-

D’Arthur Cowan Texas A&M-Commerce WR Sr. Olive Branch, Miss.
Carandal Hale Texas A&M-Commerce RB R-Fr. Greenville, Texas
Shawn Hooks Texas A&M-Commerce RS Sr. Dangerfield, Texas
Peyton Searcy Texas A&M-Commerce DT Jr. Killeen, Texas
Neema Behbahani Texas A&M-Commerce ILB So. Plano, Texas
Travon Blanchard Texas A&M-Commerce OLB Sr. Orange, Texas
Darent White Texas A&M-Commerce CB Jr. Houston, Texas
Tristan Perry Texas A&M-Commerce P Fr. Mineral Wells, Texas

Academic All-LSC-

Garrett Blubaugh  Texas A&M-Commerce  LB  So.  Construction Engineering  Keller, Texas
Kristov Martinez  Texas A&M-Commerce  K  Jr.  Management  Edinburg, Texas




Huge Congrats To Former Lion QB Deric Davis (2012-2014) who was named Alberta Football League Rookie of the Year. Davis was the top passer in the Canadian League and led his team, the Fort McMurray Monarchs to the AFL title game. Very happy for Deric and this guy is a guy who never gives up and works incredibly hard.

Roar Back Here.....

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s